Mario Marathon

Instead of powering through my daunting work inbox, I’m watching a webcast of the 5th annual Mario Marathon.

As you probably discerned from the name, it’s a marathon wherein a bunch of people play Mario games for a Herculean amount of time. More importantly, this is being done to raise money for Child’s Play, a charity that donates video games, toys, and books to hospitals. As explained on Child Play’s website, “these donations allow for children to enjoy age-appropriate entertainment, interact with their peers, friends, and family, and can provide vital distraction from an otherwise generally unpleasant experience.”

As of writing this, they have been playing for 80 hours straight and have raised over $83k. Best of all, these charity gaming marathons are happening all the time.

Sitting on the coach has never been so noble.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mario Marathon

  1. This sounds fun! I’d do this if they let me play Super Mario Bros. – I love that game!! Or, if I could play drunk Mario Kart on Super Nintendo, I love that, too. I really want to get those old games on like a super nintendo or something so that I could play them – do you know where I could get that at? Or, can’t I play it on like PS3 somehow? Clearly, I don’t know videogames very well (sorry)…But, I LOVE the old Super Mario, Super Smash Bros., Mario Kart, etc., games!

Leave a Reply

